Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Research Analyst/Auditor

April 28, 2016

EMAIL and U.S. Mail The Honorable Curtis M. Loftis, Jr. State Treasurer Post Office Box 11778 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Dear Treasurer Loftis:

Your office has provided the Executive Subcommittee a "Report of SC Public Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA) to Chairman of Senate Finance Committee and Chairman of House Ways and Means Committee regarding settlement of *State Treasurer and Attorney General of the State of South Carolina v. Bank of New York Mellon.*" However, the exhibits to the report, of which the settlement agreement was one, were not included in the copy provided to the Subcommittee.

During the last Subcommittee meeting on April 14, 2016, Ms. Adams' testified your office would provide a copy of the settlement agreement. We look forward to your office providing a copy of the settlement agreement and other exhibits to the report. In line with the Committee's regular process during a study, the Subcommittee will receive and post the documents online. As stated in our previous letter, please let us know in writing, prior to providing the documents, if any of the documents are subject to confidentiality agreements and cannot be posted online. Please provide an electronic copy of the PowerPoint presentation your office made during the April 14, 2016 meeting, so the same may be posted online.

Thank you for your continued cooperation and patience during the legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,

Signature Redacted

Joshua Putnam
Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Laurie Slade Funderburk
The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton
The Honorable Robert Q. Williams